Retrieve Password Contact Us

Latin American Studies Association (LASA)

About LASA


Back to Call for Bryce Wood Book Award Nominations

In 1988, the Executive Council of LASA began accepting nominations for the Bryce Wood Book Award. A fund created to commemorate Professor Wood’s name. Susan Eckstein and the Council worked for two years to devise a formula that would give feasibility and integrity to an award in the far-reaching field of Latin American Studies. The most vexing problem was how to limit the potentially enormous pool without excluding books written by Latin Americans. To truly reflect the international community of scholar in Latin American studies, they wanted to include, as would Bryce Wood, books published in Spanish and Portuguese. It seemed nearly impossible, however, to acquire a representative sample of publications from so many countries. On practical grounds, the Executive Council regretfully decided to limit the award initially to books published in English. At least some works by Latin Americans appear in that Language. (Later the Premio Iberoamericano came into existence to award books published in Spanish and Portuguese)

This award is given at each Congress to an outstanding book on Latin America in the social sciences and humanities published in English.


WINNING BOOK: Michael Albertus Autocracy and Redistribution: The Politics of Land Reform (University of Chicago)
WINNING BOOK: Barbara E. Mundy The Death of Aztec Tenochtitlan, the Life of Mexico City (Fordham University)


WINNING BOOK: Ann Twinam Purchasing Whiteness: Pardos, Mulattos and the Quest for Social Mobility in the Spanish Indies (Stanford University Press)
HONORABLE MENTION: Fabiana Li Unearthing Conflict: Corporate Mining, Activism and Expertise in Peru (Duke University Press)


WINNING BOOK: David Carey Jr. I ask for Justice: Maya Women, Dictators, and Crime in Guatemala, 1898-1944 (University of Texas at Austin)
WINNING BOOK: Thomas M. Klubock La Frontera: Forest and Ecological Conflict in Chile’s Frontier Territory (Duke University Press)


WINNING BOOK: Lillian Guerra Visions of Power in Cuba: Revolution, Redemption, and Resistance, 1959-1971 (University of North Carolina Press)
HONORABLE MENTION: Marc Hertzman Making Samba: A New History of Race and Music in Brazil (Duke University Press)


WINNING BOOK: Joanne Rappaport and Tom Cummins Beyond the Lettered City: Indigenous Literacies in the Andes (Duke University Press, 2012)
HONORABLE MENTION: Isaac Campos Home Grown: Marijuana and the Origins of Mexico's War on Drugs (The University of North Carolina Press, 2012)


WINNING BOOK: Jody Pavilak Mining for the Nation: The Politics of Chile’s Coal Communities from the Popular Front on the Cold War
HONORABLE MENTION: Kathryn Burns Into the Archive: Writing and Power in Colonial Peru
HONORABLE MENTION: James Mahoney Colonialism and Development:Spanish America in Comparative Perspective


WINNING BOOK: Brian DeLay War of a Thousand Deserts
HONORABLE MENTION: Lauren Derby The Dictator's Seduction: Politics and the Popular Imagination in the Era of Trujillo


WINNING BOOK: Winifred Tate Counting the Dead: The Culture and Politics of Human Rights Activism in Colombia
HONORABLE MENTION: Carmelo Mesa Lago Reassembling Social Security: A Survey of Pensions and Health Care Reforms In Latin America


WINNING BOOK: Myrna I. Santiago The Ecology of Oil: Environment, Labor, and the Mexican Revolution, 1900-1938
HONORABLE MENTION: Steve J. Stern Battling for Hearts and Minds. Memory Struggles in Pinochet’s Chile, 1973-1988 (Vol 2)


WINNING BOOK: Sybille Fisher Modernity Disavowed: Haiti and the Cultures of Slavery in the Age of Revolution
HONORABLE MENTION: Steve J. Stern Remembering Pinochet´s Chile: on the Eve of London 1998


WINNING BOOK: Charles L. Briggs and Clara Mantini-Briggs Stories in the Time of Cholera: Racial Profiling during a Medical
HONORABLE MENTION: Leslie Salzinger, Genders in Production. Making Workers in Mexico’s Global Factories


WINNING BOOK: Carmen Diana Deere and Magdalena León, Empowering Women: Land and Property Rights in Latin America (University of Pittsburgh Press, 2002)
HONORABLE MENTION: Francine Masiello, The Art of Transition: Latin American Culture and Neoliberal Crisis (Duke University Press, 2002)


WINNING BOOK: Greg Grandin, The Blood of Guatemala: A History of Race and Nation
HONORABLE MENTION: Louis A. Perez, Jr. On Becoming Cuban: Identity, Nationality and Culture


WINNING BOOK: Friedrich Katz, The Life and Times of Pancha Villa
HONORABLE MENTION: José C. Moya, Cousins and Strangers


WINNING BOOK: Mary Kay Vaughan,Cultural Politics in Revolution: Teachers, Peasants and Schools in Mexico, 1930-1940
HONORABLE MENTION: Terry Karl, The Paradox of Plenty: Oil Booms and Petro-States
HONORABLE MENTION: Carlos Monsivais, Mexican Postcards


WINNING BOOK: William B. Taylor, Magistrates of the Sacred: Priests and Parishioners in Eighteenth Century Mexico
HONORABLE MENTION: Warren Dean, With Broadax and Firebrand: the Destruction of the Brazilian Atlantic Forest


WINNING BOOK: Florencia Mallon, Peasant and Nation: The Making of Postcolonial Mexico and Peru
HONORABLE MENTION: Robert G. Williams, States and Social Evolution: Coffee and the Rise of National Governments in Central America
HONORABLE MENTION: Gustavo Pérez Firmat, Life on the Hyphen: the Cuban-American Way


WINNING BOOK: Nancy Scheper-Hughes, Death Without Weeping: The Violence of Everyday Life in Brazil (Berkeley, 1992 [A Centennial Book])
HONORABLE MENTION: Gordon Brotherston, Book of the Fourth World: Reading the Native Americans through Their History (Cambridge, 1992)
HONORABLE MENTION: Joyce Marcus, Meso-American Writing Systems: Propaganda, Myth and History in Four Ancient Civilizations (Princeton, 1992)


WINNING BOOK: Roberto Gonzalez Echevarria, Myth and Archives: A Theory of the Latin American Narrative (Cambridge University Press)
FIRST HONORABLE MENTION: Ramón A. Gutiérrez, When Jesus Came the Corn Mothers Went Away (Stanford University Press)
SECOND HONORABLE MENTION: Nicholas Shumway,The Invention of Argentina (University of California Press


WINNING BOOK: Paul Drake, The Money Doctor in the Andes: The Kemmerer Missions, 1923-1933


WINNING BOOK: Thomas Skidmore, The Politics of Military Rule In Brazil, 1964-1985
About LASA Governance Nominations Invited for the 2018 Slate LASA Staff Annual Report Contribute to LASA
About LASA2018 Proposal submission Travel Grants Registration Awards Book Exhibit Film Festival Program Important Dates Sponsorship
Upcoming Congresses Past Congresses Frequently Asked Questions
Advertising Information LARR LASA Forum
Membership Benefits Membership Costs Become a Member Renew Your Membership Update Current Address Frequently Asked Questions
About LASA Sections Frequently Asked Questions 2017 Section Awards
Governance Description of Roles Frequently Asked Questions Guidelines for Submission Selection Process - Paper/Panel Selection Process - Travel Grants Proposal Submission Website and Instructions
50th Anniversary Compaign LASA Funds LASA Leadership Circle Kalman Silvert Society