Retrieve Password Contact Us

Latin American Studies Association (LASA)

About LASA

Luciano Tomassini Latin American International Relations Call for Book Award Nominations

Deadline: September 21, 2017

The Luciano Tomassini Latin American International Relations Book Award is presented at each LASA International Congress to the author(s) of an outstanding book on Latin American foreign policies and international relations published in English, Spanish or Portuguese in any country. Books eligible for the 2018 award must have been published between July 1, 2016 and June 30, 2017. Anthologies of selections by several authors are not eligible. Books will be judged on the originality of the research, the quality of the analysis and writing and the significance of their contribution to the study of Latin America and the Caribbean. Books may be nominated by authors, LASA members, or publishers.

Persons who nominate books are responsible for confirming the publication date and for forwarding one copy directly to each member of the Award Committee, at the expense of the authors or publishers. A nomination packet should include a statement justifying the nomination; a copy of the nominated book; and the complete mailing address, telephone and fax numbers, and e-mail address of the nominee. Packets should be sent directly to individual award committee members and to the LASA Secretariat by September 21, 2017. Applications for the Luciano Tomassini Latin American International Relations nominations can be submitted electronically. Please fill out the Award Submission Form and send it back to the LASA’s Secretariat at: by September 21, 2017. For international shipping, please label all books as gifts and not as samples.

All books nominated must reach each member of the Award Committee and the LASA Secretariat by September 21, 2017. By January 20, 2018, the committee will select a winning book. It may also name an honorable mention. The award will be announced at the LASA2018 Awards Ceremony, and the awardee will be publicly honored. LASA membership is not a requirement to receive the award.

Members of the 2018 committee:

Felipe Agüero (Chair)
INAP, Santa Lucía 240, Santiago,
CP 8320208, Chile

Rafael Roncagliolo
Lord Nelson 429, 2do. Piso.
Miraflores, Lima, Perú

Arlene B. Tickner
Facultad de Ciencia Política, Gobierno y Relaciones Internacionales
Universidad del Rosario
Calle 12C No. 6-25

Latin American Studies Association
Attn: Luciano Tomassini Book Award Nominations
University of Pittsburgh
315 South Bellefield Avenue
416 Bellefield Hall
Pittsburgh PA 15260

About LASA Governance LASA Staff Annual Report
About LASA2019 Proposal submission Travel Grants Registration Awards Advertising Book Exhibit Film Festival Program Events Local Logistics Important Dates Sponsorship Resolutions
Upcoming Congresses Past Congresses Frequently Asked Questions
LASA Publications Access to External Publications Advertising Information Mailing List
Membership Benefits Membership Costs Become a Member Renew Your Membership Update Current Address Add Sections to your membership Frequently Asked Questions
About LASA Sections Frequently Asked Questions Section Awards
Governance Description of Roles Frequently Asked Questions Guidelines for Submission Selection Process - Paper/Panel Selection Process - Travel Grants Proposal Submission Website and Instructions
LASA Funds LASA Leadership Circle Kalman Silvert Society