Retrieve Password Contact Us

Latin American Studies Association (LASA)

Latin American Research Review (LARR)


In the LASA XXVI International Congress at San Juan, Puerto Rico (March 15-18, 2006), the LARR editors are pleased to offer the following LARR Sponsored Fora:

"Los desastres no son naturales:" Natural Disasters and their Historical Consequences

Wednesday 15, 2.00 - 3.45 PM (Location: San Cristobal E).

Organizer and Chair:
Jonathan Brown, University of Texas at Austin, and LARR.

Charles Walker, University of California/Davis
Stuart Schwartz, Yale University.

Lyman Johnson, University of North Carolina/Charlotte
Virginia Garc'a-Acosta, CIESAS, Mexico.

Latin American Studies Journals: Round Table Forum with the Editors

Wednesday 15, 4.00 - 5.45 PM (Location: Las Olas Room).

Principal Editors of the Leading Latin American Studies Journals.

William Smith, University of Miami
Michiel Baud, CEDLA-University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Barbara Weinstein, University of Maryland
Victor Armony, Universit_ du Qu_bec/ Montr_al, Canada
Ronald Chilcote, University of California/Riverside
Claudia de Lima Costa, Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina, Brazil
David Howard, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom.

Nicola Miller, University College, London, United Kingdom.

Reception offered by the Principal Editors of the Leading Latin American Studies Journals.

Wednesday 15, 6.00 - 7.45 PM (Location: Las Olas Room).

The Rise of the Latin American Left

Friday 17, 10.00 - 11.45 AM (Location: San Cristobal A).

Raul Madrid, University of Texas at Austin, and LARR.

Wendy Hunter, University of Texas/Austin
Jorge Dom'nguez, Harvard University
Michael Coppedge, University of Notre Dame
Kenneth Roberts, Cornell University
Richard Snyder, Brown University
Juan Pablo Luna, Pontificia Universidad Cat-lica de Chile, Chile.

Cultural and Literary Studies of the Caribbean: What Lies Ahead

Friday 17, 6.00 - 7.45 PM (Location: Flamboyan).


Naomi Lindstrom, University of Texas at Austin, and LARR.


Anibal Gonzalez, Pennsylvania State University
Gustavo Perez Firmat, Columbia University
Emilio Bejel, University of California/Davis
Juan Flores, Hunter College/CUNY.

Back to LARR @ LASA

About LASA Governance LASA Staff Annual Report
About LASA2019 Proposal submission Travel Grants Registration Awards Advertising Book Exhibit Film Festival Program Events Local Logistics Important Dates Sponsorship Resolutions
Upcoming Congresses Past Congresses Frequently Asked Questions
LASA Publications Access to External Publications Advertising Information Mailing List
Membership Benefits Membership Costs Become a Member Renew Your Membership Update Current Address Add Sections to your membership Frequently Asked Questions
About LASA Sections Frequently Asked Questions Section Awards
Governance Description of Roles Frequently Asked Questions Guidelines for Submission Selection Process - Paper/Panel Selection Process - Travel Grants Proposal Submission Website and Instructions
LASA Funds LASA Leadership Circle Kalman Silvert Society