Saturday, May 28, 2016
United Nations Delegates Dining Room

In 2016 the Latin American Studies Association (LASA) is celebrating its 50th anniversary. The Gala on May 28th, 2016 will honor the work and accomplishments of all who have contributed to LASA and Latin American Studies during the past 50 years. This event will also provide an opportunity to build the LASA endowment that supports funding for research and travel grants.

— Sold out —

Guests of Honor

  • Fernando Henrique Cardoso, President of Brazil, 1995 – 2002
  • Ricardo Lagos, President of Chile, 2000 – 2006
  • Luis Guillermo Solís, President of Costa Rica, 2014 – 2017

Keynote Speaker

  • Alma Guillermoprieto, Mexican Journalist, Tinker Visiting Professor, University of Chicago

Master of Ceremonies

  • to be announced

Special Performances

  • Lena Burke, Cuban singer-songwriter
  • Alberto Javier Rodriguez Ortiz, Puerto Rican guitarist


  • Gilbert M. Joseph, Yale University, LASA President
  • Milagros Pereyra, LASA Executive Director

Honorary Committee

  • Martín Abregú, Vice President, Democracy, Rights, and Justice, FORD Foundation
  • Ulrich Baer, Vice Provost Faculty, Arts, Humanities and Diversity, NYU
  • John Coatsworth, Provost, Columbia University
  • Robert Kaplan, President, Inter American Foundation
  • Renate Rennie, President, Tinker Foundation
  • Ian Shapiro, MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies Director, Yale University

Event Sponsors

View All Sponsors »

Host Committee

LASA Presidents
Life Members*

  • Arturo Arias, University of California, Merced*
  • Cole Blasier, University of Pittsburgh*
  • Debra Castillo, Cornell University*
  • John Coatsworth, Columbia University*
  • Carmen Diana Deere, University of Florida*
  • Jorge I. Domínguez, Harvard University*
  • Paul L. Doughty, University of Florida*
  • Paul Drake, University of California, San Diego*
  • Susan Eckstein, Boston University
  • Richard Fagen, Stanford University*
  • Merilee Grindle, Harvard University*
  • Charles R. Hale, University of Texas, Austin*
  • Evelyne Huber, University of North Carolina*
  • Jane S. Jaquette, Occidental College
  • Gilbert M. Joseph, Yale University*
  • Henry Landsberger, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Cynthia McClintock, George Washington University*
  • Carmelo Mesa Lago, University of Pittsburgh
  • Marysa Navarro, Dartmouth College and Harvard University*
  • Joanne Rappaport, Georgetown University*
  • Lars Schoultz, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill*
  • Peter Smith, University of California, Berkeley*
  • Maria Hermínia Tavares de Almeida, Universidade de São Paulo*

Life Members

  • Edna Acosta-Belen, SUNY, Albany
  • Rolena Adorno, Yale University
  • Silvia M. Arrom, Brandeis University
  • Florence Babb, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Elaine Carey, St. John’s University
  • Ron Chilcote, Latin American Perspectives
  • Peter Cleaves, DRG International
  • Michael Conroy, Colibri, Consulting Inc.
  • Julio Cotler, Instituto de Estudios Peruanos
  • José Guillermo de los Reyes, University of Houston
  • Billie DeWalt, Edward M. Kennedy Institute for the United States Senate
  • Dara Goldman, University of Illinois
  • Katherine Hite, Vassar College
  • Ivan Jaksic, Stanford University
  • Leonard Kurz, Forest Creatures Foundation
  • William LeoGrande, American University
  • Gilbert Merkx, Duke University
  • Kevin J. Middlebrook, University College London
  • Tommie Sue Montgomery
  • Enrique Mu, Carlow University
  • David Scott Palmer, Boston University
  • Manuel Pastor Jr., University of Southern California
  • Milagros Pereyra Rojas, LASA
  • Aníbal Pérez-Liñán, University of Pittsburgh
  • Reid Reading, University of Pittsburgh
  • Kenneth Roberts, Cornell University
  • Marianne Schmink, University of Florida
  • Doris Sommer, Harvard University
  • Lynn Stephen, University of Oregon
  • John Stephens, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • George Vickers, Open Society Foundation
  • Peter Ward, University of Texas, Austin
  • Philip J. Williams, University of Florida